Sunday, August 23, 2009

Extreme Makeover: SketchUp Edition

I remade one of my models today! I clicked on the "edit model" button, which downloaded my model from the 3D Warehouse, and I made some major improvements, including new photo textures. It looked great... but when I re-uploaded the model, my revised model was not identified as the same model anymore, as it should have been.

So now I have two of the same model, one good and one pretty crappy. Allison Floyd (software engineer at Google) told us "don't make a new version of the same model and upload it parallel to the old one; rather, click the edit button, download it, edit it, and re-upload. Otherwise it screws up the replacement process on Google Earth."

I DID do that!  Why didn't it work?!

Before version: